How to transform your team – what are your options?

04/09/2014

Would you like to discover how to transform a team into one that makes you burst with pride? Follow along with my series of videos, and I will share some useful tools and strategies to do just that.

I love my work as a business effectiveness consultant and coach because I get to meet some wonderful managers and leaders in law firms and I help them build teams to be proud of. You might already know about my background, my 25+ years in professional services, and how I came back from maternity leave in August 2005 to a promotion and inherited an under-performing team. What I really wanted was a team that was seen as a model of excellence; a team to be proud of. Well, I was able to turn it around and 11 months later, I was bursting with pride when the team was shortlisted in a supplier’s Annual Awards ceremony.

Last week I launched a series of videos that describes my story and how I came to realise that my unique insight and talent at identifying problems was not enough. As a business services manager in a law firm, I was feeling overwhelmed. I didn’t know where to start. There were too many conflicting demands and pressures. It felt like I was constantly firefighting; being reactive instead of proactive. I soon realised that I needed an implementation plan. There was so much that needed attention, but where to start?

In Episode 1, I explained how to use a Service Delivery Wheel to help decide where to focus your attentions first. In Episode 2, we looked at exploring the current situation: what is not working and what the problems are, as well as to understand what your ideal 10 out of 10 situation looks like.

In Episode 3, the essential point is to start with a clear goal for the first step in transforming your team. A goal needs to be specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and with a timeframe. It is not about taking you all the way from a 5 to 10 in one step.

And look out for bonus Episode 4 next week when we will look at brainstorming, how to create options and how to pick the best options to take forward, as well as the questions you need to ask to be sure that you hold yourself accountable. I also have a special offer to share with you.

Meantime, you can watch Episode 3 here.

 

 

Leave a comment